|Marriage License FAQ|
Any person who is at least 19 years old may apply for a marriage license.
Any minor who is 17 or 18 years old may apply for a marriage license with a parental or legal guardian consent. The consent form must be notarized.
No. The state of Nebraska does not recognize same-sex marriages.
Common law marriages cannot be entered into in Nebraska.
Click here to see marriage license requirements.
No, a blood test is not required (effective 4/14/98).
No. Please follow the instructions for obtaining a marriage license when the bride and groom are not able to appear in person to complete the application.
You will need to obtain your marriage license in the state where you are getting married.
You may obtain your marriage license in any county in Nebraska as long as you get married in Nebraska.
No, you do not need to file your marriage license from another state/country in Nebraska.
The person who is performing the ceremony does not have to reside in Nebraska, nor register with Nebraska.
We are open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. We are open during the lunch hour. We are located downtown at 1819 Farnam room H08, at the Harney Street level, in the Omaha-Douglas Civic Center. The easiest way to come in is through the ground-level door on Harney Street between 19th and 18th streets. Click to see the exact location. We do not have any branch office locations.
Nebraska marriage licenses are public record. Your name and age will be published in the Omaha World-Herald and in the Daily Record. The newspapers come in daily to pick up the list of names of the applicants from the day before. Usually your name will be printed within a couple of days after the day that you applied.
If you do not want you name in the paper, you will need to discuss that with the Omaha World Herald at 402-444-1000 or the Daily Record at 402-345-1303.
A list of judges will be provided upon request when you come in and apply for your marriage license.
You will need two witnesses when you get married. The witnesses do not need to be present when you get the license, but they will need to be present at the marriage ceremony.
Once you are married you will need to contact the Social Security Office at 1-800-772-1213 and the Douglas County Treasurer for your state ID or driver's license at 402-444-7103 if you are planning to change your name.
The Douglas County Clerk's Office does not change anyone's name.
For a certified copy of your marriage license, please fill out a request form. You may bring it into our office or send it it to us at:
The fee is $5.00 per certified copy.
*A clear photo copy of your valid I.D is required*
We have records from 1856 to present. We will need to know the bride's maiden name, the groom's name and the date of the ceremony.
Please call us at 402-444-6080.